Movement= good. But, couch=comfy!

7 Jan

Today I looked forward to a day off after spending most of Saturday and Sunday attending to business related things.  Admittedly, most of that work wasn’t enjoyable, but was instead related to spreadsheets and taxes.

jessetaxes

Jesse Pinkman knows how it is.

So yeah, a day off today!  Yay!  However, upon checking this week’s calendar I saw that it’s all about catch-up with all of those appointments put off for so long: vet, dentist, therapist, accountant, book club, wow!  To top it off, I’m even going to court tomorrow to contest a parking ticket received outside of the yoga studio (turns out my parking sticker fell off of my window).  While I have no resolution to do such a thing (yuck), attending such a hearing is WAY outside of the norm for me.  In the old days I would have begrudgingly paid the fine just to avoid going downtown.  Anyway, I’m kind of rambling here because I’m distracted by Jessie up there, but what I’m getting at is I have a lot of appointments coming up!  Plus, tomorrow is my first day of walking dogs!

img-z81_walkies

Hopefully this won’t happen. Image by zolks81(click image for link)

Today I went on a long walk with the dogs and did some training with Sasha while Radar played off leash.  My dogs have done this special, badass training that doesn’t involve treats and works really well, but daily training is necessary (especially for stubborn Sasha).  So the walk was good.  And unlike my last few days of forgetfulness I made my green juice, took all those vitamins and consumed multiple pieces of produce.  These details are quite boring, but what it means is that I returned to some of the goals I originally planned to follow.  I also went to the dentist for a dreaded procedure, but it ended up going MUCH better than I’d anticipated.  Thank you, tooth fairy!  Oh wait, that’s not what she does.

south park tf

image is from South Park. Duh.

I also taught two yoga classes today.  As I’m writing this I realize I sound like a person with ADD: dogs! teeth! yoga! taxes! squirrel!.  Anyway, one class I planned to teach while the other was a last minute substitution situation.  Teaching gave me an opportunity to move, observe, breath and to talk to people about yoga, one of my favorite things. I tend to be really nervous before teaching yoga lately because I’m rusty, but it seems to be getting better and it is certainly helping my home practice.  Before my evening class, I realized that this month’s focus on Body is really about movement.  Eating well and keeping an organized living space are components, but most of my extra effort is going towards increasing healthy activity after quite a while of being pretty lazy.  After just one week of daily long walks and regular yoga practice I feel more energized and I’m sleeping much better.

It’s not groundbreaking news that movement is healthy and that exercise helps us feel better.  Research shows that exercise can reduce depression, help us better manage stress and can help to prevent numerous physical illnesses.  And yet?  The couch looks comfortable!  Recognizing that some days, the movement comes easier than others, I’m starting to carve out some ideas to keep up what I am doing.  And then when I am done with it, then I can head to the couch for a bit.

How can I make healthy movement a part of my day?

  • Keep a routine.  The moment my feet hit the floor each morning the dogs are ready for their walk.  They do well with routine, and it makes sense that I do as well.  I walk them in my pajamas and my knit hat (yes, very attractive, I know).  I haven’t yet figured out a yoga routine, but I’m glad that I have a walking routine down so far.   
  • Do enjoyable things. I’ve tried intense workout videos, gyms and even Cross Fit classes.  I don’t really like those things.  But I love walking outside and I love yoga.  So that’s what I’m doing.  I am aware that it is important to get your heart rate up more than I’m probably doing walking and yoga-ing so I do plan to do some treadmill workouts that involve hill walking and/or walking quickly.  That will be great because I can watch or read stuff on my Ipad while I work out!  (I have a treadmill at home, but that room is full of dry wall and tarps right now.  Just give it a few days.)
  • Don’t overexert.  Working out way too hard results in very sore muscles and exhaustion, which is way more likely to lead to a day of being laid out than a day of deciding to do that workout all over again.  Overdoing it can also lead to injury which definitely puts a halt on those exercise ambitions.  I’m aiming to exercise regularly (like at least 5 days a week) and to keep it simple on those days.  That way I feel motivated and content, and more likely to continue doing it!

How to you incorporate healthy movement into your daily life?

2 Responses to “Movement= good. But, couch=comfy!”

  1. earlron January 7, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Hi! I had to check out your blog after you commented on mine. It looks very interesting! I can’t wait to dive into it! Great post I just read though. Take Care!

    • blinddogmegan January 7, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Thank you for reading! I look forward to reading more of your posts as well. Om shanti and all that good stuff.

Leave a Reply

