Today

14 Feb

A song:

To make a mountain of your life
Is just a choice
But I never learned enough
To listen to the voice that told me
Always love hate will get you every time
Always love don’t wait ’til the finish line 

-From the song ‘Always Love’ by Nada Surf.

This is not my favorite holiday, oh no. As a teen and young adult, I was often single and grumpy about this day.  And the times I wasn’t?  I honestly don’t remember what I did.  Instead, what stands out to me is how my friend Staci and I always celebrated this day in college, making presents for each other and calling it ‘Stupid Day’.  I also remember my dad giving my chocolate in the morning before school, all throughout my childhood and asking me to be his Valentine.  Of course, an age came upon me and that turned into “I’m a loser!  My dad has to give me presents today!”, but now that my brain is fully developed, I’m grateful for those gestures and can admit that it meant a lot even at the time.

It is a silly holiday, in my opinion.  I see the men walking around like robots buying flowers and chocolate, just because they are supposed to.  I like to think we show our love and affection regularly.  I also like to think that there are many kinds of valuable love in our lives, besides just romantic love.  So today?  I work until late and my husband has his martial arts class tonight.  So it’s like any other night, which means we’ll eat some good food, talk about things and play with the dogs in our cozy home.  And I’ll definitely eat some chocolate.

Oh yeah and this:

adopt

What are you doing to celebrate love, not just today but every day? 

2 Responses to “Today”

  1. Jessie February 19, 2013 at 3:55 am #

    That’s so sweet that your dad gave you chocolate on Valentine’s Day (although I can understand how that would be less amazing when you’d rather have chocolate from another special someone!). Peter and I are not into Valentine’s Day – in fact, I was out of town for the holiday and we had a nice chat on the phone instead 🙂

    • blinddogmegan February 19, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      That sounds like a very reasonable Valentine’s Day! All of that artificial pressure just seems like too much. And yes, it was very sweet of my dad to do that, and to continue doing that even though I’d go into melodramatic monologues about being a loser with no boyfriend, lol!

Leave a Reply

