Purging!

24 Feb
Image

Image from inhonorofdesign.com

No, not that kind of purging (the barfy kind).  I hit a limit and I am DONE with the clutter and the extra stuff.  Thinking a lot this month about the MIND, it dawned on me that there are constant distractions of some sort.  For example, I put things off and continually think about what I forgot to do so my mind stays cluttered and distracted.  There there is the physical clutter as I must wade through a certain about of physical items to find what is actually wanted/needed such as finding the sweater I want to wear on the floor of the closet because it got pushed off its hanger by the hardly worn clothes.   Then there’s the art supplies, the many books, Rock Band (oh so sad, but we don’t use it anymore), old dishes, appliances not used, so many sets of old sheets used for painting drop cloths, and on and on and on.  Just writing about it is overwhelming.

Strangely, I find myself fighting off impulses to buy new things even though there is so much around that is not used at all.  So I’m not going to Target or giving in to temptations to simplify by having more.  That is just plain silly.

So it is time to purge and clear it out, just have room for the things that are beautiful and/ or useful.  We’re starting with the office/ art room.  Why hold on to all of this stuff?  I really can’t see any reason.  So, bye bye stuff!  Oh yeah and get ready for us, Goodwill!

2 Responses to “Purging!”

  1. Jessie E. February 25, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    I certainly agree with this – my life is entirely too cluttered. I think part of it has to do with being proud of being busy, if that makes sense, but it seriously saps my energy. Time to purge!

    • blinddogmegan February 25, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      That’s a good point, Jessie. Sometimes when we’re really busy, it is just too much to start decluttering. I admit that it takes a lot of energy and can be very overwhelming. About 2 hours in to clearing out our office yesterday, I was lamenting “oh no! Why did I start this?” But I kept at it and the room looks great. Not counting the epic Goodwill trip I will take later today, it took about 4 hours total and we cleared out 2 closets and one big room that was totally cluttered and full of random things. Yeah!

Leave a Reply

